top of page

The Golden Rule

Interfaith dialogue - "The Golden Rule" , the golden rule in the writings of 13 faiths.

Buddhism: Treat not others in ways that you yourself would find hurtful.

Confucianism: One word which sums up the basis of all good conduct - loving/kindness. Do not do to others what you do not want done to yourself.

Taoism: Regard your neighbor's gain as your own gain, and your neighbor's loss as your own loss.

Sikhism: I am a stranger to no one and no one is a stranger to me. Indeed, I am a friend to all.

Christianity: In everything, do to others as you would have them do to you, for this is the law and the prophets.

Unitarianism: We affirm and promote respect for the interdependent web of all existence.

Native Spirituality: We are as much alive as we keep the earth alive.

Zoroastrianism: Do not do unto others whatever is injurious to yourself.

Jainism: One should treat all creatures in the world as one would like to be treated.

Judaism: What is hateful to you, do not do to your neighbor. This is the whole Torah; all the rest is commentary.

Islam: Not one of you truly believes until you wish for others what you wish for yourself.

Baha'i Faith: Lay not on any soul a load that you would not wish to be laid upon you, and desire not for anyone the things you would not desire for yourself.

Hinduism: This is the sum of duty; do not do to others what would cause pain if done to you.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page